e- & mHealth

The purpose of the SIG is to build a community of interested ISBNPA members to advance e- & mHealth related research specifically related to physical activity, dietary and sedentary behaviours.


Scope

The e- & mHealth Special Interest Group (SIG) will provide a platform to address e- & mHealth related research within the framework provided by the International Society for Behavioural Nutrition and Physical Activity (ISBNPA). ISBNPA addresses behavioural research in nutrition, physical activity and sedentary behaviour. 
 
Within the ISBNPA and SIG context, e- & mHealth are defined as the use of electronic & mobile technologies (e.g. the Internet, mobile devices and apps) to expand, assist or enhance health and health care delivery. 
 
 

Background

With increasing prevalence of unhealthy dietary practices, physical inactivity and sedentary behaviour, effective and low cost approaches that can improve these health behaviours in large populations are needed to improve health and well-being and reduce health care costs. Interactive electronic & mobile technologies have potential to expand, assist and/or enhance delivery of health promotion initiatives and thus improve health behaviour outcomes. Though a sizeable body of literature is developing in this area, the science of using e- and mHealth technologies is still relatively young and large gaps remain. For example, more work needs to be done to improve the (long-term) effectiveness and reach of behavioural e- and mHealth interventions, and many questions remain around optimal implementation and dissemination. 
 

Aim

The purpose of the SIG is to build a community of interested ISBNPA members to advance e- & mHealth related research specifically related to physical activity, dietary and sedentary behaviours. The SIG will provide a forum to discuss new evidence, underlying mechanisms and specific components of e- &mHealth-based interventions that may lead to enhanced behavioural outcomes. 

 

SIG Chair:

Camille E Short (University of Adelaide, Australia)
camille.short@adelaide.edu.au
 
 

SIG Co-chair:

Andre M Müller (National University of Singapore, Singapore)
andrematthiasmueller@gmail.com
 
 

Others in the 'Leadership team':

Carol Maher, Past-Chair (University of South Australia, Australia)
Carol.Maher@unisa.edu.au
 
Corneel Vandelanotte, Fellow (Central Queensland University, Australia)
c.vandelanotte@cqu.edu.au
 
Ann De Smet, Secretary (Gent University, Belgium)
ann.desmet@ugent.be
 
Michael L Lopez, Communications (Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, USA)
MLLopez@ag.tamu.edu
 
Louise Poppe, Communications (Gent University, Belgium)
louise.poppe@ugent.be 
 
Melinda Hutchesson, Newsletter co-ordinator (University of Newcastle, Australia)
melinda.hutchesson@newcastle.edu.au
 
Amanda Staiano, Newsletter team (Pennington Biomedical Research Center, USA)
amanda.staiano@pbrc.edu
 
Petra Wark, Awards (Coventry University, United Kingdom)
petra.wark@coventry.ac.uk
 
 

Attachments