Events

ISBNPA Webinar SIG Policies and Environments: Urban Informatics: Studying How Urban Design Influences Health in New York City

02 March 2017

When: March 2, 2017
Time: 15:00 EST (which means 20:00 GMT & Friday March 3, 7:00 AEDT Melbourne Time)








Title of webinar

Urban Informatics: Studying How Urban Design Influences Health in New York City

SIG Chair 

Elizabeth Ablah, Associate Professor, University of Kansas School of Medicine

Elizabeth Racine, Associate Professor, UNC Charlotte

Speakers 

Andrew Rundle

Mailman School of Public Health, Columbia University

New York, USA


Webinar moderator

Jeroen Lakerveld, VU University Medical Center Amsterdam

Abstract 

Dr. Rundle will discuss different methods to assess urban design influences on health and well-being with New York City as case study. His talk covers the usage of large administrative and commercial datasets and geospatial tools to characterize neighborhood built, economic and social environment features;  global positioning systems (GPS) and accelerometers to measure individual’s behaviors; and epidemiologic methods to understand how differences in neighborhood characteristics influence the health of residents. He will highlight challenges to measure neighborhood form across multiple municipal jurisdictions and retrospectively over the past three decades.

Organization:

SIG Policies and Environments

Place:

Webinar