Events

Theories of motivation webinar: Understanding and Changing Health Behaviors From a Self-Determination Theory Viewpoint

09 November 2015


Understanding and Changing Health Behaviors From a Self-Determination Theory Viewpoint

Date and time

Date: Monday 9 Nov, 15:00 EST (9 nov, 20:00 London, 10 nov, 07:00, Melbourne, 10 nov 04:00 Hong Kong)

Speakers

Richard Ryan, University of Rochester and Australian Catholic University
Chair: 
Pedro Teixeira 
Moderator:
Stef Kremers

Abstract

Richard Ryan is co-founder of Self-Determination Theory (SDT) and among the most cited researchers in Psychology worldwide. He is the Editor-in-Chief of Motivation and Emotion and he is currently involved in SDT-related applied motivational research in the domains of health care, education, sport, work, psychotherapy and virtual environments. Professor Ryan is a former keynote speaker at the ISBNPA annual meetings.
In this interactive webinar, Professor Ryan will start by presenting a brief overview of SDT as well as new and emerging developments in applications of SDT to understand and improve health behavior, with a focus on physical activity and nutrition. 
He will also discuss common misconceptions about SDT and its application to health behavior, measurement challenges and directions for future research that would serve to refine the theory and its applications to our field. 
The webinar will end with an opportunity for questions and comments posed by the audience. Comments and questions can be submitted electronically throughout the webinar and will be facilitated by the webinar’s Moderator. 

Attending this webinar

If you want to listen to this webinar, please complete the following questions.
Note that spaces are limited and will be assigned on a first come first serve basis and in a phased order:
- Up and until 9 October: registration for the organizing SIG members only
- From 10-22 October for all members of ISBNPA
- From 23 October open for everybody
Registering does not guarantee access to the webinar. We will confirm your registration as soon as possible.

Registration link

https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/3729182072078079233


Organization:

Theories of motivation SIG

Place:

Webinar