Events

ISBNPA Webinar SIG Childrens and Families: Expanding traditional understandings of caregiver supportive feeding and sleep practices

26 May 2020

Link to register:

https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_8FNsoB6ZRN6_bqz59w3F_w

 

 

Calendar: 

May 26, GMT, 9PM; London 10 PM; Boston 5PM;  Vancouver 2PM

May 27, Auckland, 9AM; Melbourne 7AM

 

Speakers:

Lucinda Bell, Research Fellow Nutrition and Dietetics, College of Nursing and Health Sciences Flinders University

 

Rosalina Richards, Associate Professor, Centre for Pacific Health, Va’a o Tautai, Division of Health Sciences, University of Otago

 

Lisa Te Morenga, Senior Lecturer Maori Health & Nutrition, Rutherford Discovery Fellow, School of Health, Te Herenga Waka – Victoria University of Wellington

 

Moderator:

Holly Harris, Postdoctoral Fellow, Erasmus Medical Center, Rotterdam,

 

SIG Chairs:

Holly Harris & Rebecca Stanley

 

 

Abstract:

Three researchers from Australia and New Zealand will present findings describing the influence of grandparents and other social and community factors on child feeding and sleep practices. Lucinda Bell will present findings about the influence of grandparents on eating and physical activity behaviors of their grandchildren. Rosalinda Richards will present data from a variety of family members that described sleep across time (generations) and space (geographic and social environments). Lastly, Lisa Te Morenga will describe research that explored the diverse realities of sleep in 14 Māori whanau with the goal of finding methods to improve health outcomes for Māori children. Taken together, this research highlights the importance of other caregivers in the development of health-related behaviors, and encourages future research to identify the impact of other family members including social and contextual factors that may impact health behaviors in families. 

Organization:

ISBNPA SIG Children and Families

Place:

Zoom